Minimize Bissagos Islands, Guinea-Bissau

This SPOT-6 image, which appears to resemble an artistic rendition of a tree, shows five of the islands in the Bissagos Islands, an archipelago that is part of Guinea-Bissau, just off the western coast of Africa.

This image was acquired on 17 February 2013, during the commissioning phase of SPOT-6.

There are approximately 88 islands and islets in the Bissagos archipelago, and twenty of these are permanently inhabited, with an estimated population of 30,000. Two of the five central islands depicted in this image are inhabited. The islands are, from left to right: Orango, Imbone, Canogo, Meneque and Orangozinho.

Due to the diversity in both fauna and flora, the archipelago is one of UNESCO's Biosphere Reserve's.

View the full resolution image.

Credit: Astrium Services / Spot Image S.A. France, all rights reserved

Minimize Useful Links
eoPortal News Missions Directory Earth Observation Images  Earth Observation Jobs about eoportal Contact eoPortal