Minimize Super Typhoon Phanfone

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) on NASA's Terra satellite acquired this natural-colour view of Typhoon Phanfone, a category 3 storm, at 10:55 a.m. Japan Standard Time (01:55 Universal Time) on 3 October 2014.

Near the time of this image, maximum sustained winds were estimated at 204 kilometres (127 miles) per hour, according to Unisys Weather. At 12:12 p.m. Japan Standard Time (03:12 Universal Time) that day, maximum significant wave height was 13 metres (44 feet), according to the U.S. Navy's Joint Typhoon Warning Center. The typhoon was centered at 24.4° North latitude, 133.7° East longitude, about 1,370 kilometres (850 miles) south-southwest of Yokosuka, Japan.

View the full resolution image.

Credit: NASA Earth Observatory

Typhoon Phanfone


Minimize Useful Links
eoPortal News Missions Directory Earth Observation Images Earth Observation Events 
Earth Observation Jobs about eoportal Contact eoPortal Follow us on Twitter